DWI Lawyer Frisco TX defending Clients Throughout Collin County & Denton County

A person can be arrested for a DWI if they are caught driving with any trace of an illegal narcotic or alcohol in their system. The law states that if an individual is caught driving with a blood-alcohol content of 0.08% or above, they can be charge with driving while intoxicated, which is sometimes referred to as a DUI or driving under the influence.

DWI Offenses & Penalties

First Offense

  • Fines of up to $2,000
  • License suspension for 90 to 365 days
  • Jail sentence of between 3 and 180 days

Second Offense

  • Fines of up to $4,000
  • License suspension for 180 days to 2 years
  • Jail sentence ranging from 30 days to 1 year
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation

Third Offense

  • Fines of up to $10,000
  • License suspension for 180 days to 2 years
  • Jail sentence for up to 2 years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installation

In Texas any DWI's that are on your record will be counted toward future penalties and call for a more severe punishment for any following DWIs. After a third offense, DWI penalties get even steeper. Whether this is your first time being arrested for a DUI or your fifth, I can help.

Refusing Chemical Tests

If arrested for a DWI in Texas it is mandatory for you to take a chemical test if a police officer asks you to during your arrest. Regardless of you actually being intoxicated you have to do the chemical test.

If you refuse to participate in the test, it will most likely result in your license being suspended, even if you aren't intoxicated. For your first offense, the law allows an automatic 180-day license suspension. If you receive a second offense then all offenses after that can result in a 2-year suspension of your license.

License Suspension in Texas

Getting your license suspended is one of the most inconvenient issues that comes with getting charged with a DWI. You will most likely not be able to commute to work or go anywhere without some sort of public transportation. DWI license suspension isn't a part of the court charging you with the crime, but you will need to appear to your assigned ALR, preferably with a lawyer.

If you want to fight to keep you license from facing a lengthy suspension, you must request to appear to the hearing at least 15 days after your arrest. You may be able to receive a worker's driver license or a provisional driver's license that would still allow you to drive to work or school.

Under 21 DUI

Drivers that are under the age of 21 are not considered in the same group of those who are of legal drinking age. Texas prosecutes under age drinkers who are caught driving under the influence even if their BAC is below the legal limit, unless it is below .02%.

Call us today if you want knowledgeable and aggressive representation for your DWI case. I am truly passionate about helping you from facing severe penalties and I can help you!